15 videos worth $29.85 for $17.99/mo (launch pricing) · Halloween bonus: 5 free videos · ends Oct 31 →
Stand-in

Comparison

Is there a cheaper alternative to Runway Aleph for replacing yourself in a video?

Runway’s Aleph 2.0 is a real video-to-video model that can replace or edit people inside footage — the same job Stand-in does — at $0.28 a second on the Runway API, or $8.40 per 30-second video. Stand-in is $2.99 per 30-second video pay as you go. Runway’s Act-Two is a different tool: a $0.05/s performance transfer onto a character image. Here is the honest math, and where Runway is the better buy.

The difference, in hard numbers

Stand-inRunway Aleph 2.0Runway Act-Two
What it isCharacter swap inside your real footage, plus an optional one-tap voice swapVideo-to-video edit / character replace (API and consumer app)Performance transfer onto a character image
15-second video$1.99 pay as you go$4.20 API; $3.36 best case on Max annual$0.75
30-second video$2.99 pay as you go; about $1.90 per video on Creator$8.40 API; $6.72 best case on Max annual$1.50
60-second video$5.98 pay as you go (two 30 s blocks)$16.80 API; $13.44 best case on Max annual$3.00
VoiceKeep your own, or swap it in one tapNot stated in Runway’s pricing docs (Oct 2026)Keeps the driving performance and audio
Clip length30 s per video block; up to 10 minutes with blocksNot stated in Runway’s pricing docs (Oct 2026)Not stated
WatermarkStarter: yes. Creator, Pro and pay-as-you-go (no plan): noNo watermark on Standard and above (Runway consumer plans)Same Runway plans

Runway figures from docs.dev.runwayml.com/guides/pricing and runway.com/pricing, October 2026. Competitor prices change; check the source pages before quoting.

The math, spelled out

  • • Aleph 2.0 on the API: $8.40 per 30 s. Stand-in: $2.99 per 30 s — about 2.8x more expensive.
  • • Best Runway consumer case (Max plan, $76/mo annual): about $6.72 per 30 s — still about 2.2x Stand-in.
  • • Against a Creator-plan video (about $1.90 per 30 s): about 4.4x more expensive.
  • • Act-Two costs less than Stand-in per 30 s ($1.50), but it drives a character image with your performance instead of replacing the person inside your footage — and it keeps your real audio.

The honest pros and cons

What Runway does better
  • • Act-Two is cheaper per second ($1.50 per 30 s) for performance transfer.
  • • Aleph is a general video-to-video model: edits beyond swaps, and a developer API.
  • • No watermark on Standard and above (consumer plans).
  • • One consumer subscription covers the whole Runway editor.
What Stand-in does better
  • • Whole-person swap, not an edit: a fictional character replaces you, with no avatar look.
  • • About 2.8x cheaper per 30 s than Aleph on the API.
  • • Voice optional: keep yours or swap it in one tap.
  • • No credits: plans are in whole videos, failed renders never count, extras never expire.

Questions people actually ask

Is there a cheaper alternative to Runway Aleph for replacing yourself in a video?
Yes. Stand-in is $2.99 per 30-second video pay as you go, versus $8.40 for Runway Aleph 2.0 on the API — about 2.8x — or $6.72 in the best consumer case on Runway’s Max plan.
How much does Runway Aleph cost per 30-second video?
Runway Aleph 2.0 is $0.28 per second on the Runway API, so about $8.40 per 30-second video ($4.20 per 15 s, $16.80 per 60 s). On the consumer side, Runway’s Max plan ($76/mo annual) works out to about $0.224 per second in the best case, roughly $6.72 per 30 seconds.
What’s the difference between Runway Aleph and Runway Act-Two?
Aleph 2.0 edits or replaces characters inside a video file ($0.28/s, about $8.40 per 30 s). Act-Two transfers your performance onto a character image ($0.05/s, about $1.50 per 30 s) and keeps the driving performance and audio. Stand-in does a whole-person replacement inside your own footage for $2.99 per 30-second video pay as you go.
Is Runway Act-Two cheaper than Stand-in?
Per second, yes: Act-Two is about $1.50 per 30 seconds versus Stand-in’s $2.99 pay as you go. But Act-Two drives a character image with your performance; Stand-in replaces you with a fictional character inside the real footage you filmed, with no avatar look.
Does Runway Aleph keep my voice?
Runway’s pricing docs do not state voice handling or clip length for Aleph (October 2026); Act-Two keeps the driving performance and audio. Stand-in keeps your own voice by default, or swaps it in one tap while keeping your pacing.

More comparisons: HeyGen vs Stand-in · Best AI UGC tools in 2026